FOX LAKE GRADE SCHOOL DISTRICT 114 BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING

April 28, 2021

6:00 PM Special Reorganization Meeting

Hybrid Meeting in--person at Lotus Lounge and via Google Meets

I. Call to Order

The Special Board Reorganization Meeting of the Fox Lake Grade School District 114 Board of Education was held Wednesday, April 28, 2021 and called to order by Mr. Dabrowski at 6:04 p.m.

II. Pledge of Allegiance

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited

III. Roll Call

Members in attendance: Mr. Dabrowski, Mr. Martin, Mrs. Kiesgen, Mr. Hutchinson

Administration in Attendance: Mrs. Friziellie, Mrs. Taylor

Others in Attendance: Mrs. O'Grady, Mr. Bryant

Others in Attendance virtually: K. Timm

IV. Approval of the Agenda

A motion was made by Mr. Martin, seconded by Mrs. Kiesgen, to approve the Agenda. Motion Carried.

Aye: Mr. Martin, Mrs. Kiesgen, Mr. Dabrowski, Mr. Hutchinson

Nay: None Abstain: None

V. Adjournment Sine Die

Mr. Dabrowski asked for a motion for the Board of Education to Adjourn Sine Die.

A motion was made by Mrs. Kiesgen, seconded by Mr. Martin, to approve the Adjourn Sine Die.

Motion Carried.

Aye: Mrs. Kiesgen, Mr. Martin, Mr. Dabrowski, Mr. Hutchinson

Nay: None Abstain: None

Matthew Dabrowski, President	Nannette Kiesgen, Secretary

VI. Appointment of President Pro Tem by Consensus

Mrs. Kiesgen was appointed as President Pro tem by consensus.

VII. Appointment of Secretary Pro Tem by Consensus

Mr. Martin was appointed as Secretary Pro tem by consensus.

VIII. Call to Order by President Pro Tem

Call to Order by the *President Pro Tem* Mrs. Kiesgen at 6:09 p.m.

IX. Roll Call

Members in attendance: Mrs. Kiesgen, Mr. Hutchinson, Mr. Martin

X. Seating Newly Elected Board Members

President Pro Tem Mrs. Kiesgen administers the Oath of Office to Matthew Dabrowski (309 votes – four year term)

Matt Dabrowski takes his seat at the Board table.

President Pro Tem Mrs. Kiesgen administers the Oath of Office to Kenneth Bryant (293 votes – four year term)

Kenneth Bryant takes his seat at the Board table.

President Pro Tem Mrs. Kiesgen administers the Oath of Office to Jennifer O'Grady (306 votes – four year term)

Jennifer O'Grady takes her seat at the Board table

XI. Reorganization of the Board

1. Elect President of the Board of Education

President Pro Tem Mrs. Kiesgen asks for nominations for the position of President of the Board of Education for a four year term.

Mr. Martin nominates Mr. Dabrowski.

The *President Pro Tem* Mrs. Kiesgen asks for a motion to elect Mr. Dabrowski as President of the Board of Education.

A motion was made by Mr. Martin, seconded by Mr. Bryant to elect Matt Dabrowski as President of the Board of Education. Motion Carried.

Aye: Mr. Martin, Mr. Bryant, Mrs. Kiesgen, Mr. Hutchinson, Mrs. O'Grady

Nay: None Abstain: None

Nannette Kiesgen, President Pro Tem	Andrew Martin, Secretary Pro Tem

3. Elect Secretary of the Board of Education

Mr. Dabrowski recommended the nomination for the position of Secretary of the Board of Education for a two year term.

Mr. Martin nominates Nannette Kiesgen.

A motion was made by Mr. Martin, seconded by Mr. Bryant, to elect Nannette Kiesgen as Secretary of the Board of Education for a two year term. Motion Carried.

Aye: Mr. Martin, Mr. Bryant, Mr. Dabrowski, Mr. Hutchinson, Mrs. O'Grady

Nay: None Abstain: None

4. Elect Treasurer of the Board of Education

Mr. Dabrowski recommended Mary Taylor, Business Manager, CSBO as Secretary of the Board of Education for a four year term.

A motion was made by Mrs. Kiesgen, seconded by Mrs. O'Grady to elect Mary Taylor as Secretary of the Board of Education for a four year term. Motion Carried.

Aye: Mrs. Kiesgen, Mrs. O'Grady, Mr. Martin, Mr. Bryant, Mr. Dabrowski, Mr. Hutchinson

Nay: None Abstain: None

XII. Adoption of Existing Policies and Contracts

Mr. Dabrowski recommended the adoption of existing policies and contracts.

A motion was made by Mrs. Kiesgen, seconded by Mr. Martin, to accept existing contracts and existing policies and procedures that are in place in the district. Motion Carried.

Aye: Mrs. Kiesgen, Mr. Martin, Mr. Dabrowski, Mr. Hutchinson, Mr. Bryant, Mrs. O'Grady

Nay: None Abstain: None

XIII. Committee Appointments

• IASB Delegate: Mrs. Kiesgen

• IASB Alternate Delegate: Mr. Smith

• RD Sayles Foundation Liaison: Mrs. O'Grady

XIV. Closed Session - For the purpose of discussion related to a confidential employee matters and possible litigation

A motion was made by Mrs. Kiesgen, seconded by Mr. Martin to go into Closed Session at 6:29 p.m. for the purpose of discussion related to confidential employee matters and possible litigation. Motion Carried.

Aye: Mrs. Kiesgen, Mr. Martin, Mr. Hutchinson, Mr. Bryant, Mrs. O'Grady, Mr. Dabrowski,

Nay: None Abstain: None

Mr. Smith arrived to the meeting at 6:34 pm

Open Session started at 6:35 pm

Mr. Dabrowski administers the Oath of Office to Roger T. Smith Sr. (14 votes – four year term) Roger T. Smith Sr. takes his seat at the Board table.

2. Elect Vice-President of the Board of Education

President Dabrowski recommended Roger Smith Sr. for the position of Vice-President of the Board of Education for a four year term.

President Dabrowski asks for a motion to elect Roger Smith Sr. as Vice-President for a four year term. A motion was made by Mrs. Kiesgen, seconded by Mrs. O'Grady to elect Roger Smith Sr. as Vice-President of the Board of Education for a four year term. Motion Carried.

Aye: Mrs. Kiesgen, Mrs. O'Grady, Mr. Dabrowski, Mr. Martin, Mr. Hutchinson, Mr. Bryant

Nay: None Abstain: None

A motion was made by Mr. Martin, seconded by Mr. Smith Sr., to go into Closed Session at 6:38 p.m. for the purpose of discussion related to confidential employee matters and possible litigation. Motion Carried.

Aye: Mr. Martin, Mr. Smith Sr., Mrs. Kiesgen, Mr. Dabrowski, Mr. Hutchinson, Mr. Bryant, Mrs. O'Grady

Nay: None Abstain: None

XV. Return to Open Session

Return to Open Session at 7:51 pm.

A motion was made by Mr. Smith Sr., seconded by Mrs. Kiesgen for the approval of Administrative Salaries as discussed in the Closed Session. Motion Carried.

Aye: Mr. Smith Sr., Mrs. Kiesgen, Mr. Dabrowski, Mr. Martin, Mr. Hutchinson, Mr. Bryant, Mrs. O'Grady

Nay: None Abstain: None

XVI. Adjourn

A motion was made by Mr. Martin, seconded by Mr. Smith Sr., to Adjourn at 7:52 p.m. Motion Carried. Aye: Mr. Martin, Mr. Smith Sr., Mr. Dabrowski, Mr. Hutchinson, Mr. Bryant, Mrs. O'Grady, Mrs.

Kiesgen Nay: None Abstain: None

Matthew Dabrowski, President	Nannette Kiesgen, Secretary